Approximate location of the  Indian  wreck in Finistère.

Description

In 1991 a diver from the small town of Kerlouan reported a wreck at the foot of the rocks known as Carrec Hir. His report included seeing uniform buttons, bits of tableware and a long piece of wood that might be a ship’s keel..

At 4 o’clock in the morning of 10 December 1817 the Indian, a British three-masted ship of 500 tons carrying a complement of 193, broke up in the storm battering the coast of Kerlouan. Over the next few days 143 bodies were washed up on the beach. Only two pigs managed to somehow reach safety. The beach was strewn with goods, uniforms and parts of the ship’s rigging. The Indian was transporting a regiment of the army raised by the British government to assist Simon Bolivar in his efforts to free South America from the yoke of Spain.

Lying in shallow waters, the site of the Indian had been extensively looted and churned up by storms by the time the complex study began. Analysis of the artefacts in the possession of the finder and several other discoverers gave a fairly accurate idea of life aboard ship. Pieces of chronometers, an hourglass, a spyglass and some decorated earthenware came mainly from the officers’ cabins at the stern of the ship; while an inkwell, a bottle, some pipes, toothbrushes and hairbrushes shed some light on the everyday life of the crew.

Map of the location of the Indian wreck
Photograph of a maritime archive document
Underwater photograph of two divers wrapping hussar swords

Location of the wreck.

© Fonds DRASSM

A record of theIndian in the maritime archives.

© René Ogor

The swords will be wrapped in bandage strips before being raised to the surface.

© Teddy Seguin/DRASSM

Operation managers

  • René Ogor (2013)
  • Olivia Hulot/Drassm (2013)

Localisation approximative de l'épave Indian dans le Finistère.

Description

En 1991 un plongeur de Kerlouan déclare une épave sur les roches de Carrec Hir. Il y signale la présence de boutons d’uniforme, de débris de vaisselle et d’une longue pièce de bois qui pourrait être une quille.

Le 10 décembre 1817, à 4 heures du matin, l’Indian, un trois-mâts anglais de 500 tonneaux portant 193 personnes se brise dans la tempête sur le littoral de Kerlouan. Au fil des jours, 143 corps seront jetés à la côte et seuls deux cochons rejoindront, miraculeusement saufs, le rivage. Ce dernier est jonché de marchandises, d’uniformes et de pièces de gréement. L’Indian transportait l'un des régiments de la légion levée par le gouvernement anglais pour aider Simon Bolivar à libérer l’Amérique latine du joug espagnol.

Peu profond, le site de l’Indian a subi de nombreux pillages et l’outrage des tempêtes, d’où une étude complexe. L’analyse des objets détenus par l'inventeur et quelques autres découvreurs donnent une idée assez précise de la vie à bord. Fonds de chronomètres, sablier, longue vue et faïences décorées proviennent majoritairement des cabines des officiers situées à l'arrière du navire. Un encrier, une bouteille, des pipes et des brosses à dents et à cheveux, offrent pour leur part un reflet de la vie quotidienne de l’équipage.

Carte de l'emplacement de l'épave Indian
Photographie d'une archive maritime
Photographie sous-marine de deux plongeurs emmaillotant des sabres de hussard

Emplacement de l'épave.

© Fonds DRASSM

Dans les archives maritimes, la trace de l’Indian.

© René Ogor

Les sabres vont être emmaillotés dans des bandes Velpo avant d’être ramenés à la surface.

© Teddy Seguin/DRASSM

Responsables d’opération

  • René Ogor (2013)
  • Olivia Hulot/Drassm (2013)