Discovered in 2012 more than 300 metres below the sea, the Aléria 1 wreck has since been the subject of several studies which have generated a wealth of information about the cargo.

A stamp to date the wreck

The cargo associated with the wreck comprised thousands of oil lamps and pieces of crockery, as well as mortars from the region around Rome and amphorae from all over the Mediterranean. The letters LMVNPHILE stamped on an oil lamp recovered in 2013 were a significant chronological reference. They indicated that the lamp was made in Rome by Lucius Munatius Phile between AD 90 and 130. This eclectic cargo illustrates the role the port of Rome played in the redistribution of goods. The richness and importance of this wreck are ample justification for the studies carried out on the site under the direction of Franca Cibecchini (DRASSM).

Getting the artefacts to talk

Photogrammetry carried out in 2015 revealed some of Aléria 1’s secrets. The wreck was modest in size, measuring 17 metres in length and 6 or 7 metres in the beam. The amphorae were stowed methodically at one end of the ship, and several rows of lamps were still neatly stacked in the centre of the hold despite fishing trawlers churning up the sea floor in the area. Most of the cooking pots were housed at the other end of the vessel. 

The ceramics provided precious information on the maritime route taken by the ship and also on the type of trade she was involved in. The ship foundered as she made her way to what would have been her first stop at the town of Aleria in Corsica. From there, she would have probably set out for Gaul, in all likelihood the ports of Arles and Narbonne which enjoyed good communications to inland markets.

Découverte en 2012 à plus de 300 mètres de fond, l’épave Aléria 1 a fait l’objet de plusieurs campagnes d’étude récompensées par la richesse des informations révélées par la cargaison.

Un timbre qui date l’épave

La cargaison de l’épave est composée de milliers de lampes à huile et de vaisselle en céramique, associées à des mortiers provenant de la région de Rome et à des amphores venues de toute la Méditerranée. Le timbre LMVNPHILE, lu sur une lampe prélevée en 2013, offre un repère chronologique très pertinent. Il indique que la lampe a été fabriquée à Rome par Lucius Munatius Phile, entre 90 et 130 apr. J.-C. Cette cargaison très diverse témoigne du rôle de redistribution des marchandises joué par le port de Rome. La richesse et l’importance de cette épave justifient les différentes campagnes de recherches menées par Franca Cibecchini (DRASSM) sur le site.

Faire parler les objets

Grâce à la photogrammétrie réalisée en 2015, Aléria 1 a livré quelques-uns de ses secrets. De dimension modeste, 17 mètres de longueur sur 6 ou 7 mètres de large, l’épave révèle des amphores bien ordonnées à l’une des extrémités du navire et plusieurs rangées de lampes encore parfaitement empilées au centre de la cale en dépit du passage des instruments de pêche des chalutiers qui fréquentent la zone. Les céramiques de cuisine sont pour leur part situées pour l'essentiel à l’autre extrémité du navire. 

L’étude des céramiques fournit des éléments d’information précieux sur la route maritime suivie par le navire et sur la nature du commerce dans lequel il était engagé. Ce navire a fait naufrage au cours d’un voyage qui le conduisait en premier lieu vers la ville d’Aléria en Corse. De là, il serait sans doute reparti pour la Gaule, probablement vers Arles et Narbonne, deux ports ouvrant sur d’importants marchés intérieurs.