3
Other Perspectives

Ernest Pignon-Ernest

Ernest Pignon-Ernest's visual artwork is seen in the streets of many towns: Naples,South Africa, Lyon and Paris have all hosted installations. A pioneer in urban art in France, he produces screen prints, drawings on black stone, paintings that he sticks to walls, doors, or stairs, and that work with the architecture.

When someone creates an image, he shows others, then he shows himself. The artist isn't there, but at the same time he is. The fact that they create the image is a kind of birth of the artist. It's like he's signalling to you via the art: asserting himself as a subject, which means he makes an image within a community and for others. He says, "I am a man". It's like waving a hand, a hand signal.

People in the Palaeolithic made sure their images were born from the rocks themselves:  they used the tiniest fissure, the slightest curve in the rock… as if the animal was born from that rock, like the potential was already there. Or sometimes – like the horse at the end – you get the impression the animals are emerging from the depths. This idea is there all the time. In that way, the sacred is there inside.

The strongest and most disturbing thing is maybe even when there is no drawing. They have just scraped away the rock, and the rock becomes a mammoth: it's almost a sculpture. They're saying to us: "See, these animals are here, potentially, they're here".

3
Autres regards

Ernest Pignon-Ernest

Le travail du plasticien Ernest Pignon-Ernest se déploie dans les rues des villes : Naples, l'Afrique du Sud, Lyon, Paris ont été le théâtre de ses installations. Pionnier de l'art urbain en France, il produit des sérigraphies, des dessins à la pierre noire, des peintures qu’il colle sur les murs, les portes, les escaliers et qui se fondent dans l’architecture.

« Quand quelqu'un fait une image, il donne à voir aux autres et puis il donne à voir à lui-même. Il n’y a pas l’homme et en même temps il est là. Le fait qu’il fasse cette image, c’est une espèce de naissance de l’homme. C’est comme s’il vous fait un signe de là : il s’affirme comme sujet, c’est-à-dire qu’il fait une image au sein d’un collectif et pour les autres. Il dit « je suis un homme ». C’est comme la main, un signe de la main.

Les hommes du Paléolithique ont fait en sorte que les images naissent des rochers eux-mêmes :  ils utilisent la moindre fissure, la moindre courbe du rocher… C’est comme si l'animal était né de ce rocher, comme s’il était là, potentiellement. Ou, quelquefois  – c’est le cas du cheval au fond – on a l’impression que les animaux sortent des profondeurs. Il y a tout le temps cette idée. Et en ce sens, le sacré est là-dedans.

Le plus fort, le plus troublant, c’est peut-être même quand il n’y a plus de dessin. C’est simplement en grattant le rocher, que le rocher devient le mammouth : c’est presque de la sculpture. Ils nous disent : « Voyez, ces animaux sont là, potentiellement, ils sont là. »