1
Discover the cave

Research

Marc AZÉMA

Prehistorian specialising in cave art

Associate researcher at TRACES Mixed Research Unit (U.M.R. 5608, CNRS-University of Toulouse Le Mirail-Culture) and at the Cartailhac Centre for the Research and Study of Prehistoric Art (CREAP). He obtained his PhD in Prehistory in 2003 (The depiction of movement in Palaeolithic cave art in France). Since 1995, he has been carrying out campaigns to record art from various different caves: Chauvet, Ebbou, Colombier and La Baume-Latrone. He gradually included 2D and 3D computer graphics in his work (three-dimensional numbering and 3D scanning).

Aside from this solid experience in the field, over the years Marc Azéma has become a specialist in depicting movement in Palaeolithic art and the ethological approach to animation. In his book La préhistoire du cinéma (The prehistory of the cinema), he puts forward his theories on the Palaeolithic origins of graphic narration and motion pictures. His ideas are based to a large extent on Chauvet Cave and can be seen in a 52-min documentary entitled Quand Sapiens faisait son cinéma (When Sapiens made films), shown in October 2015.

"Nos lointains ancêtres faisaient déjà du cinéna" (Our distant ancestors were already making films). He has made documentaries, organised exhibitions and footage (excavations and studies of decorated caves) often including sequences with re-enactments in synthetic 3D images (all periods of history and prehistory). "Passé simple: productions de films, documentaires et images de synthèse 3D" (Simple past: films, documentaries and synthetic 3D images). 

He has been a member of the scientific team tasked with studying the Chauvet-Pont d'Arc Cave in Ardèche since 2001. He works with Jean Clottes on recording and analysing the pendants in the Hillaire Chamber and the right-hand wall in the End Chamber. He has also collaborated with Bernard Gély on the publication of a book about the mammoths in the cave. He is also in charge of archiving the video footage of the team's work, and has filmed and uploaded interviews with team members onto this website.

Contributions

Horse Alcove,Three small mammoths,Four bison heads in a column,Right-hand wall panel,Signs Panel,Archaeological sites,Large Lion Panel,Engraved Ibex,Black Bear,Pendant Engravings,Distribution of cave art techniques

1
Découvrir la grotte

La recherche

Marc AZÉMA

Préhistorien spécialiste d'art pariétal

Chercheur associé à l'Unité Mixte de Recherche TRACES (U.M.R. 5608, CNRS-Université de Toulouse Le Mirail-Culture) et au Centre Cartailhac pour la Recherche et l'Etude sur l'Art Préhistorique (CREAP). Depuis 2003, il est Docteur en Préhistoire (La représentation du mouvement dans l'art pariétal paléolithique de la France). Depuis 1995 il effectue des campagnes de relevés d'art pariétal dans plusieurs grottes : Chauvet, Ebbou, Colombier, La Baume-Latrone. Progressivement, il a intégré dans ses travaux les techniques d'infographie 2D et 3D (numérisation tridimensionnelle / scan 3D).

Outre cette solide expérience de terrain, Marc Azéma est devenu au fil des ans un spécialiste de la représentation du mouvement dans l'art paléolithique et d'une approche éthologique de l'animation. Dans son ouvrage La préhistoire du cinéma, il expose ses théories sur les origines paléolithiques de la narration graphique et du cinématographe. Son propos se base en grande partie sur la grotte Chauvet et fait l'objet d'un documentaire 52 mn « Quand Sapiens faisait son cinéma » diffusé en octobre 2015.

"Nos lointains ancêtres faisaient déjà du cinéna". Il réalise aussi des films documentaires, des expositions, de l'archivage vidéo (fouilles et étude de grottes ornées) intégrant souvent des séquences de reconstitution en images de synthèse 3D (toutes les périodes de la préhistoire et de l'histoire).

Il réalise aussi des films documentaires, des expositions, de l'archivage vidéo (fouilles et étude de grottes ornées) intégrant souvent des séquences de reconstitution en images de synthèse 3D (toutes les périodes de la préhistoire et de l'histoire). "Passé simple: productions de films, documentaires et images de synthèse 3D".

Depuis 2001, il est membre de l'équipe scientifique chargée d'étudier la grotte Chauvet-Pont d'Arc en Ardèche. Il travaille avec Jean Clottes sur le relevé et l'analyse des pendants de la salle Hillaire et la paroi droite de la salle du Fond. Il a également collaboré avec Bernard Gély à la publication d'un ouvrage sur les Mammouths de la grotte. Il est également chargé de l'archivage vidéo des travaux de l'équipe. Il a tourné et monté les entretiens des membres de l'équipe sur ce site Internet.

Contributions

Les sites archéologiques,Gravure de bouquetin,L’ours noir,Les gravures des Pendants,Répartition des techniques de l’art pariétal,Alcôve du Cheval,Trois petits mammouths,Quatre têtes de bisons en colonne,Le Grand Panneau des Lions,Le panneau de la paroi droite,Les panneaux des Signes