”My preference would have been to pursue geology and archaeology, but there was no money in archaeology” 

Career choice

At the end of the 19th century, archaeology was still very much the domain of enlightened amateurs. Aristocrats and rich industrialists in the main, they had the time and money to indulge their passion. Although he was from a noble family, Jacques de Morgan was far from wealthy and he was forced to strike a compromise.

The compromise he made - attending the École des Mines - offered two advantages. The first was practical. As an engineer, Morgan could earn his living and even make his fortune while following a path deemed worthy of his aristocratic heritage. The second advantage was more strategic: he could put the skills he learned at the École des Mines to good use in the disciplines that interested him most.

Preparatory studies

Morgan enrolled on a course in preparation for his entrance exam to the École des Mines. He had no head for mathematics or physics, and failed on his first attempt but succeeded on his second. Between attempts, he completed his military service in an engeneering service in Arras, northern France, where he learned topography, and acquired a basic grasp of fortifications and ballistics, which he subsequently put to good use.

Lessons and leisure

Teaching at the École des Mines was a mix of courses and work experience. Hardly a conscientious student, Morgan failed to shine. Although he was interested in mineralogy and stratigraphy, his average was weighed down by subjects of which he was less fond like physics and mechanics. This did not prevent him from obtaining his degree in 1882.

As a student, Morgan also attended Georges Perrot's archaeology courses, Jules Oppert's Assyriology lectures, and meetings of the Société Géologique de France, while still finding time to visit the Muséum d'Histoire naturelle, and publish an account of his and his father’s earlier discoveries.

« J’aurais par goût adopté la géologie et l’Archéologie, mais l’Archéologie ne payait pas »

Choix de carrière

À la fin du XIXe siècle, l’archéologie est encore pratiquée par des amateurs éclairés, qui ont les moyens d’investir temps et argent dans leur passion : souvent des aristocrates, ou de riches industriels. Si Jacques de Morgan a des origines aristocratiques, il est loin d’être fortuné, aussi doit-il trouver un compromis.

Ce compromis, c’est l’école des Mines, qui présente deux avantages. Le premier est prosaïque : en devenant ingénieur, Morgan peut assurer sa subsistance, et même espérer faire fortune, tout en suivant un parcours digne de son ascendance aristocratique. Le deuxième avantage est stratégique : grâce à cette formation, il acquiert des compétences qu’il peut mettre au service d’autres disciplines qui l’intéressent.

Classe préparatoire

Morgan s’inscrit à une classe préparatoire pour intégrer l’école des Mines. Rebuté par les maths et la physique, il échoue une première fois, mais est admis lors de sa seconde tentative. Entre ces deux années, il fait son service militaire dans le Génie, à Arras, ce qui lui permet d’apprendre la topographie, et d’acquérir des notions en fortification et en balistique, qui lui seront très utiles par la suite.

Cours et loisirs

À l’école des Mines l’enseignement se compose des cours, et des stages de terrain. En classe, Morgan n’est ni très assidu ni brillant. Bien qu’intéressé par la minéralogie ou la stratigraphie, sa moyenne est affaiblie par des matières qui lui plaisent moins, comme la physique ou la mécanique. Il obtient toutefois son diplôme en 1882.

En parallèle de ses études, Morgan suit les cours d’archéologie de Georges Perrot, les cours d'assyriologie de Jules Oppert, assiste aux séances de la Société Géologique de France, va au Muséum d'Histoire naturelle et travaille à la publication des travaux qu’il a faits avec son père étant plus jeune.