Map of the approximate location of the Lequin 1A wreck

Map of the approximate location of the Lequin 1A wreck in the Var.

This wreck represents a milestone in the study of archaic trade in the West Mediterranean and contributes greatly to our understanding of the commercial relations that the young city of Marseilles enjoyed with the rest of the Greek world in the sixth century BC.

Description

Lequin 1A is one of a number of wrecks on the Pointe du Lequin site. It was identified in August 1985 while being looted. Lying at a depth of 3–8 m, Lequin 1A is the oldest of the wrecks. It yielded 1,500 Attic and Ionian cups, the latter probably originating from the island of Samos in the Aegean Sea. They are richly decorated with depictions of sphinxes, snakes, dolphins and tridents, as well as scenes and events from everyday life. The cups might have been transported in amphorae or large jars known as pithoi, ten of the latter having also been found on the wreck. Lequin 1A also furnished about 700 black-figure vases from Athens. Another hundred or so amphorae contained foodstuffs, wine and perhaps oil. This scientifically fascinating site dates from around 515 BC.

Underwater photograph of vase fragments in situ
Photograph of a fragment of a black-figure vase
Photograph of a stone nose in profile

The cups are still in place at the bottom of the vase. Underwater view of the bottom of the jar with stacked cups.

© Philippe Foliot/Fonds Drassm/CNRS Ministère de la Culture

Fragment of a black-figure vase. This piece of vase depicts a typical scene of a warrior on his chariot.

© Luc Long/DRASSM

Nosing around... It will be difficult to identify its owner.

© Stéphane Cavillon/DRASSM

Operation manager

Luc Long/Drassm (1986-1993)

Bibliography

  • LONG Luc, VOLPE Giuliano, MIRO Jordi.- Les épaves archaïques de la Pointe Lequin (Porquerolles, Hyères, Var) : des données nouvelles sur le commerce de Marseille à la fin du VIe et dans la 1ère moitié du Ve av. J-C. In : Marseille grecque et la Gaule : actes du coll. int. d'histoire et d'archéologie et du Ve congr. arch. de Gaule méridionale. Lattes; Aix : Adam éd, 1992, p 200-234. (Etudes Massaliètes ; 3).

Carte de l'emplacement approximatif de l'épave Lequin 1A

Localisation approximative de l'épave Lequin 1A dans le Var.

Cette épave est un jalon essentiel pour l’étude du commerce archaïque en Méditerranée occidentale et pour la compréhension des relations commerciales que la jeune cité de Marseille entretenait au VIe siècle av. J.-C. avec le reste du monde grec.

Description

Comportant plusieurs épaves, le site de la Pointe-Lequin est identifié en août 1985 alors qu’il fait l’objet d’un pillage. Immergée sous 3 à 8 mètres d’eau, l’épave Pointe Lequin 1A est la plus ancienne. Ce navire révèle 1500 coupes attiques et ioniennes, ces dernières probablement originaires de l’île de Samos en mer Egée. Elles sont richement décorées de sphinx, serpents, dauphins et tridents, mais aussi de scènes de genre… Cette vaisselle a pu être transportée dans des amphores ou de grandes jarres, des pithoi, dont 10 exemplaires au moins sont recensés sur l’épave. Celle-ci a aussi livré près de 700 vases à figures noires produits à Athènes. Également stockés dans une centaine d’amphores, des produits alimentaires, vin et peut-être huile, complètent ce chargement. Scientifiquement fascinant, le site est daté vers 515 av. J.-C.

Photographie sous-marine de fragments de vase in situ
Photographie d'un fragment de vase à figure noire
Photographie de profil d'un nez en pierre

Au fond du vase, les coupes encore en place. Vue sous-marine du fond de jarre avec ses coupes empilées.

© Philippe Foliot/Fonds Drassm/CNRS Ministère de la Culture

Fragment de vase à figure noire. Sur ce morceau de vase, une scène typique de guerrier sur son char.

© Luc Long/DRASSM

Soudain, un nez… Il sera difficile d’identifier son propriétaire.

© Stéphane Cavillon/DRASSM

Responsable d’opération

Luc Long/Drassm (1986-1993)

Bibliographie

  • LONG Luc, VOLPE Giuliano, MIRO Jordi.- Les épaves archaïques de la Pointe Lequin (Porquerolles, Hyères, Var) : des données nouvelles sur le commerce de Marseille à la fin du VIe et dans la 1ère moitié du Ve av. J-C. In : Marseille grecque et la Gaule : actes du coll. int. d'histoire et d'archéologie et du Ve congr. arch. de Gaule méridionale. Lattes; Aix : Adam éd, 1992, p 200-234. (Etudes Massaliètes ; 3).