Iranian antiquities in France

Since the end of the 19thcentury, French archaeological excavations in Iran had been governed by international conventions. The first one, signed in 1884, authorised the Dieulafoy family to excavate Susa, which led to the opening of the first Persian rooms in the Musée du Louvre.

In 1895, France signed a second convention granting it a monopoly on archaeological excavations in Iran. But it was not until 1900 that Mozaffaredin Shah also granted it a monopoly on finds. Morgan took this opportunity to send all the antiquities to France, including those discovered before the signing of the 1900 convention, despite the fact that its terms did not apply retroactively.

Chaotic shipment

The finds were duly shipped off to the Louvre. At the time, the museum was used as a hub to distribute artefacts to various French institutions, depending on the nature of the materials.

Transporting 230 crates of artefacts from Susa had its challenges, however. Morgan sorted the crates by weight. Those weighing less than 80 kg were transported in a caravan of more than one hundred camels to the Iranian port town of Khorramshahr.

The remaining 25 crates weighing more than 80 kg were transported by cart. Along the way, the cart collapsed, a wagon was hurriedly pieced together using crate wood, and the convoy eventually joined the other crates in Khorramshahr. From there, they were shipped by boat to Muscat, and then from Muscat to Marseille, and finally to the Louvre.

Des antiquités iraniennes en France

Depuis la fin du XIXe siècle, les activités archéologiques françaises en Iran sont réglementées par des conventions internationales. La première, signée en 1884, autorise les époux Dieulafoy à fouiller Suse, et permet l’ouverture des premières salles d'antiquités perses au musée du Louvre.

En 1895, une deuxième convention est signée, accordant à la France le monopole des fouilles archéologiques sur le territoire iranien. Mais ce n’est qu’en 1900 que Mozaffaredin Shah cède également le monopole de la totalité des découvertes. Morgan en profite pour envoyer en France toutes les antiquités, y compris celles découvertes avant la signature de la convention de 1900, alors que celle-ci n’est pas rétroactive.

Un transport chaotique

C’est donc vers le Louvre que sont acheminées les découvertes. Le musée fonctionne alors comme une plaque tournante pour distribuer le résultat des fouilles vers différentes institutions françaises en fonction des particularités du matériel.

Cependant, le transport des 230 caisses de mobilier depuis Suse n’est pas aisé. Morgan répartit les caisses selon leur poids. Celles qui pèsent moins de 80 kg sont transportées par une caravane de plus de cent chameaux jusqu’à Khorramshahr, ville portuaire iranienne.

Il reste 25 caisses pesant plus de 80 kg qui sont transportées par charriot. Mais sur la route, le charriot se brise. Un fourgon est bricolé grâce au bois des caisses de mobilier, et le convoi rejoint finalement les autres caisses à Khorramshahr. De là, elles sont expédiées par bateau jusqu’à Mascate, puis de Mascate à Marseille, pour enfin rejoindre le Louvre.