1
Discover the cave

Research

Carole FRITZ

Specialist in prehistoric art

Head of Research for the CNRS at the Prehistoric Art Research Centre (CREAP Cartailhac) in Toulouse. Her research relates to the general theoretical framework of the study of symbolic thought in Homo sapiens sapiens, more specifically in the vast domain of reflection that constitutes Palaeolithic art (movable and wall art). The purpose is to understand the ways in which symbolic Aurignacian depictions were produced, and to study their continuity throughout the Late Palaeolithic. Thanks to the study of artistic techniques and the recreation of individual and group behaviour in creative art, she tries to understand the close links that existed between the artist, his work and the group, although also among the different groups that occupied the same geographical and cultural spaces. 

She joined the scientific team when it was set up in 1998, and participates in research on wall art. Together with Gilles Tosello, she has worked in the Cactus Gallery, the Red Panel Gallery, where they took over from Norbert Aujoulat, and then in the horse sector of the Hillaire Chamber. Her present research consists of analysing the walls in the Skull Chamber. She uses photogrammetry (dense correlation) to study wall panels, a method specifically adapted to analyse walls with difficult access.

Contributions

Mammoth engraved on the vault,Engraved Ibex,Bison on the corner,Spitting Rhinoceros,Horse of the Passage,Three, four or five lions,Panel of the Red Bear,Graphic expression,The floor,Cactus Gallery,Panther Panel,Panel of Positive Hand Prints,Large Red Rhinoceros,Panel of Negative Hand Prints,Reindeer Panel,Alcove of the Lions,Panel of the Horses,Rhinoceros Alcove,Human trail,Bison of the Pillar,Mammoth Pendant,Bears at height,Brown Painted Mammoth,Black Mammoth and Feline,Panel of the Red Signs,"Butterfly" Sign,Panel of Hand Dots,Red Mammoth,Feline Head,Feline,Positive Hand Prints,Hand Dots,Rhinoceros Frieze,ω-shaped signs,Fine engravings,Niche of the Little Bear,Red paintings,Pendant and Small Cupola,Distribution of cave art techniques,Composed Panels

1
Découvrir la grotte

La recherche

Carole FRITZ

Carole Fritz. © Gilles Tosello

Spécialiste de l'art préhistorique. Maison des sciences de l'homme de Toulouse et UMR 5608 TRACES

Chercheure au CNRS, Carole Fritz dirige actuellement le Centre de recherche et d’étude pour l’art préhistorique Émile-Cartailhac (CREAP) à la Maison des sciences de l’homme de Toulouse. Interroger les sociétés de la Préhistoire, développer une réflexion sur la pensée symbolique et les premières manifestations graphiques humaines, sont autant de directions qui ont toujours motivé sa démarche d’archéologue. Le cœur de sa recherche s’appuie sur la perception et l'identification de critères techniques, stylistiques, biologiques afin d'évaluer la part respective des données cognitives et des acquis culturels qui construisent et font évoluer les formes graphiques. Depuis plusieurs années, elle développe un regard interprétatif anthropologique car elle pense que l’efficience symbolique est à la base de toute pensée des sociétés sans écriture. L’acquis de concepts externes à l’archéologie (anthropologie, psychologie, théorie du genre) est nécessaire pour faire évoluer les paradigmes interprétatifs et notre regard sur ces sociétés du passé.

Membre de l'équipe scientifique depuis sa création en 1998, elle intervient sur les recherches en art pariétal. Avec Gilles Tosello, ils ont  travaillé dans la galerie du Cactus, la galerie des Panneaux Rouges, où ils ont pris la suite des travaux de Norbert Aujoulat, puis le secteur des chevaux de la salle Hillaire. Actuellement la recherche s'oriente vers l'analyse des parois de la salle du Crâne. Elle utilise la photogrammétrie (corrélation dense) pour l'étude des panneaux pariétaux méthodologie particulièrement adaptée pour l'analyse des parois difficiles d'accès. Elle dirige l'équipe de recherche depuis 2018.

 

Contributions

Galerie du Cactus,Pendant au Mammouth,Les ours en hauteur,Le Mammouth peint en brun,Mammouth et félin noirs,Le panneau de la Panthère,Panneau des signes rouges,Signe en « papillon »,Panneau des Points-paumes,Panneau des Mains positives,Le grand Rhinocéros rouge,Mammouth rouge,Tête de Félin,Félin,Mains positives,Points-paumes,Frise des Rhinocéros,Signes en ω,Les gravures fines,Panneau des Mains négatives,Niche au petit Ours,Les peintures rouges,Panneau des Rennes,Alcôve des Lions,Panneau des Chevaux,Alcôve du Rhinocéros,Le Pendant et la Petite coupole,Répartition des techniques de l’art pariétal,Les panneaux composés,Mammouth gravé à la voûte,Bouquetins gravés,La piste humaine,Le Bison sur l’angle,Le Rhinocéros crachant,Le Cheval du Passage,Les Bisons du Pilier,Trois, quatre ou cinq lions,L’expression graphique,Le sol,Panneau de l'Ours rouge