Map of the approximate location of the Prophète wreck

Approximate location of the wreck of the Prophète in the Var.

Description

The wreck of the Prophète was identified in 1986, more than twenty years after its discovery in 33 m of water off cape Lardier near the small town of Croix Valmer. Launched in 1852 at the Charles Reynaud shipyard in Sète, the Prophète was metal-built with two decks, 42 m in length and 7.5 m in the beam. She sank in strong winds on 28 March 1860, bound from Algeria to Marseilles. Twenty-three passengers and crew members managed to reach dry land.

The Prophète was one of the first sail and steam-powered ships. After a thorough examination, it was discovered that her engine may well be the only one of its kind in the world. Her cargo was made up of reclaimed materials, including bales of rags and leather, broken glass and animal bones, especially sheep bones. The bones would have been used to make a black pigment known as bone black or animal charcoal. Other items carried by the ship were furnishings, branches of coral, a very handsome sounding lead, ironmongery, haberdashery and various personal items, such as dominoes and an inkwell. Archival research into the Prophète showed that she operated for a total of eight years along the coasts of Spain, Morocco, Italy, Libya, Egypt and, especially, Algeria. Such information provides an insight into the business activities of the big Marseilles merchants who operated the ship.

Underwater photograph of a steam engine
Photograph of everyday objects
Advertisement for the Prophète

The ship’s steam engine.

© Kurt Amsler

Everyday objects on board the ship.

© Jean-Pierre Joncheray

Advertising for crossings on board the Prophète.

© Jean-Pierre Joncheray

Operation manager

  • Jean-Pierre Joncheray (2007-2011)

Bibliography

JONCHERAY Jean-Pierre — L'épave du vapeur Prophète au Cap Lardier (Var) : approche historique, archéologique, technologique d’un navire naufragé en 1860. Fréjus : Cahiers d'archéologie subaquatique, 2014, 281 p. (supplément aux Cahiers d’archéologie subaquatique).

Carte de l'emplacement approximatif de l'épave Prophète

Localisation approximative de l'épave Le Prophète dans le Var.

Description

L’épave du Prophète est identifiée en 1986, plus de vingt ans après sa découverte. Construit en 1852 au chantier Charles Reynaud et Cie de Sète, le bateau repose par 33 mètres de fond au large du cap Lardier, à la Croix-Valmer. Navire métallique à deux ponts, de 42 mètres de long pour 7,5 de large, il sombre le 28 mars 1860 par très fort mistral. Venant d’Algérie, il faisait route vers Marseille. 23 passagers et membres d’équipage parviennent à regagner la terre.

Le Prophète fut l’un des premiers navires à vapeur à propulsion mixte. L’analyse de sa machine a dévoilé qu’il relève peut-être d’un modèle unique au monde. La cargaison est constituée de produits de récupération : balles de chiffon et de cuirs, verres brisés et ossements d’animaux, surtout de moutons. Ces derniers servaient à fabriquer un colorant noir, le charbon animal ou Noir Animal. S’ajoutent à ce fret divers mobiliers, branches de corail, très beau plomb de sonde, pièces de quincaillerie et de mercerie ainsi que des objets personnels, dominos, encrier… Grâce à l’étude des archives, les huit années de navigation du Prophète sur les côtes espagnoles, marocaines, italiennes, libyennes, égyptiennes et surtout algériennes sont reconstituées. Elles éclairent l’activité des grands négociants marseillais qui arment le bateau.

Photographie sous-marine d'une machine à vapeur
Photographie d'objets du quotidien
Publicité pour le Prophète

Machine à vapeur du bateau.

© Kurt Amsler

Objets du quotidien à bord.

© Jean-Pierre Joncheray

Publicité pour les traversées à bord du Prophète.

© Jean-Pierre Joncheray

Responsable d’opération

  • Jean-Pierre Joncheray (2007-2011)

Bibliographie

JONCHERAY Jean-Pierre — L'épave du vapeur Prophète au Cap Lardier (Var) : approche historique, archéologique, technologique d’un navire naufragé en 1860. Fréjus : Cahiers d'archéologie subaquatique, 2014, 281 p. (supplément aux Cahiers d’archéologie subaquatique).