Portrait of Salomon Reinach

This portrait, whose photographer is unknown, shows a young Salomon Reinach, leaning on the balustrade of the terrace of the château of Saint-Germain-en-Laye.

© MAN

An archaeologist, philologist, epigraphist and historian of art and religions, Salomon Reinach’s great scholarship left a considerable mark on his time.

A field archaeologist and specialist of the Mediterranean basin

Salomon Reinach trained as an archaeologist at the École française in Athens from 1880 to 1882 and carried out excavations on the necropolis of Myrina. He then became secretary of the Commission archéologique de Tunisie in 1883, taking part in excavations at Carthage. He was elected a member of the Académie des inscriptions et belles-lettres in 1896 and became its president in 1906. From 1903, he edited the Revue archéologique  and, particularly interested in civilisations and their myths, in 1905, he published the fruit of several decades of work: Cultes, Mythes et Religions.

A museum man

In 1886, he was named assistant curator of the musée des Antiquités nationales, before becoming deputy curator in 1893, and director from 1902 to 1932. He was the author of numerous guides and catalogues based on the museum’s collections, as well as publications for more general readership. From 1902 to 1918, he held the chair of national archaeology at the École du Louvre and, from 1905 to 1910, he delivered courses in the history of painting.

While at the musée des Antiquités nationales, he was asked by the Ministry of Education to successfully complete the Dictionnaire archéologique de la Gaule, whose completion he oversaw alongside Camille Jullian and Émile Espérandieu.

To find our more, see Hervé Duchêne’s biography.

Portrait de Salomon Reinach

Ce portrait, dont on ignore l'auteur, représente Salomon Reinach, jeune, accoudé sur le large balcon en terrasse du château de Saint-Germain-en-Laye.

© MAN

Archéologue, philologue, épigraphiste, historien de l'art et des religions, Salomon Reinach a marqué son temps par sa très grande érudition.

Un archéologue de terrain, spécialiste du Bassin méditerranéen

Salomon Reinach se forme à l’archéologie durant son séjour à l’École française d’Athènes de 1880 à 1882, et fouille à cette occasion la nécropole de Myrina. Puis, il devient secrétaire de la commission archéologique de Tunisie en 1883, et fouille à Carthage. Il est élu membre de l'Académie des inscriptions et belles-lettres en 1896, dont il est le président en 1906. Il dirige la Revue archéologique  à partir de 1903, et,particulièrement intéressé par les civilisations et leurs mythes, il publie en 1905 le fruit de plusieurs décennies de travail : Cultes, Mythes et Religions.

Un homme de musée

En 1886, il est nommé attaché au musée des Antiquités nationales avant d’en être conservateur-adjoint en 1893, puis directeur de 1902 à 1932. Il est l'auteur de nombreux guides et catalogues sur les collections du musée, ainsi que d'ouvrages de vulgarisation. Enfin, de 1902 à 1918, il est titulaire de la chaire d'archéologie nationale à l'École du Louvre, et assure des cours d'histoire de la peinture de 1905 à 1910.

Alors qu'il est en poste au musée des Antiquités nationales, il est chargé par le ministère de l'Intruction publique de mener à terme le Dictionnaire archéologique de la Gaule. Il assure, pour cela, un suivi scientifique avec Camille Jullian et Émile Espérandieu.

Pour aller plus loin voir la notice d’Hervé Duchêne