Édouard Lartet

Using human fossils discovered in Aurignac (Haute-Garonne), geologist and prehistorian Édouard Lartet became the founder of human palaeontology. As such, today he is still considered to be one of the founding fathers of prehistory.

Taken from "La chasse à l'époque du Bronze" © MAN

Thanks to human fossils discovered in Aurignac (Haute-Garonne), geologist and prehistorian Édouard Lartet became the founder of human palaeontology. He was appointed a member of the Commission de Topographie des Gaules in August 1866.

One of the founding fathers of prehistory

In the 1830s, on one of his properties, Édouard Lartet identified more than 90 fossils of extinct animal species. Probably influenced by Boucher de Perthes, he used stratigraphy to help him establish the chronology of occupation of an area of land. In 1860, archaeological excavations that he carried out at Massat and Aurignac helped prove that man lived alongside extinct animal species. Soon after, he put forward a chronology of the Quaternary based on successive species of large dominant mammals, using which he believed he could date Palaeolithic lithic industries. His lecture before the Académie des sciences on 16 September 1859, in which he argued for man’s presence in very high antiquity, contributed to the recognition of prehistory.

In 1863, while carrying out excavations with the English collector Henry Christy on the major sites of Périgord, including Le Moustier, Laugerie-Basse and La Madeleine, he discovered engraved objects which proved the existence of prehistoric art. He was appointed professor of palaeontology at the Muséum d'Histoire naturelle in 1869.

One of the founding fathers of the musée gallo-romain

In 1865, on the instigation of Verchère de Reffye, Édouard Lartet was appointed a member of the consultative commission for the museum’s organisation. His participation, along with that of Gabriel de Mortillet, contributed to the highly educational presentation of room 1.

Édouard Lartet

Géologue et préhistorien, Édouard Lartet fonde la paléontologie humaine à partir des restes d'hommes fossiles découverts à Aurignac (Haute-Garonne). À ce titre, il est considéré encore aujourd'hui comme l'un des pères de la Préhistoire.

Tiré de "La chasse à l'époque du Bronze",  © MAN

Géologue et préhistorien, Édouard Lartet fonde la paléontologie humaine à partir des restes des hommes fossiles découvert à Aurignac (Haute-Garonne). Il est nommé membre de la Commission de Topographie des Gaules en août 1866.

L'un des pères de la Préhistoire

Dès les années 1830, Édouard Lartet identifie, sur l'une de ses propriétés, plus de 90 espèces fossiles d'animaux disparus. Probablement sous l'influence de Boucher de Perthes,  il adopte alors la méthode stratigraphique afin d'établir la chronologie des occupations d'un territoire. En 1860, les fouilles archéologiques qu'il entreprend à Massat et à Aurignac contribuent à démontrer la contemporanéité de l'Homme avec des espèces animales disparues. Peu après, il propose une chronologie du Quaternaire fondée sur les espèces successives de grands mammifères dominants, à partir desquelles il pensait pouvoir dater les industries lithiques paléolithiques. Sa communication, le 16 septembre 1859, devant l'Académie des sciences, durant laquelle il plaide la très haute antiquité de l'Homme concourt à la reconnaissance de la Préhistoire.

En 1863,alors qu'il fouille avec l'Anglais Henry Christy dans des sites majeurs du Périgord, comme Le Moustier, Laugerie-Basse et La Madeleine, il découvre des objets gravés qui lui apportent la preuve de l'existence d'un art préhistorique. Il est nommé professeur de paléontologie au Muséum d'Histoire naturelle en 1869.

L'un des pères du musée gallo-romain

En 1865, à l'instigation de Verchère de Reffye, Édouard Lartet est nommé membre de la commission consultative pour l'organisation du musée. Sa participation, ainsi que celle de Gabriel de Mortillet, contribuent à proposer la muséographie très didactique de la salle 1.