• Home
  • The Commission de Topographie des Gaules
  • The musée gallo-romain
  • The creation of the musée gallo-romain

“The museum of Gallic antiquities must be a scientific establishment where historians and archaeologists will be able to find and access with ease the most valuable and informative documents relating to our ancestors; where the French nation will be able to, in a fashion, look back on itself in its cradle.”

Adrien de Longpérier, 1863

Napoleon III’s personal project

Created by imperial decree on 8 March 1862, the musée gallo-romain, today the musée d'Archéologie nationale, was housed in the château at Saint-Germain-en-Laye, the seat of royal power under the ancien régime. In 1862, the emperor began a major restoration of the building and often visited unannounced to see how work was progressing. The restoration was entrusted to Eugène Millet, a pupil of Viollet-le-Duc.

The omnipresent Commission de Topographie des Gaules

In 1865, a commission was formed to consult on the organisation of the museum and determine its form. It was made up of figures from the world of science, most of whom were members of the CTG. They included Félicien de Saulcy, Edouard Lartet, Anatole de Barthélémy, Alfred Maury, Viollet-le-Duc and Casimir Creuly. Alexandre Bertrand, the CTG secretary, was named director of the museum shortly before its opening to the public in 1867.

A new kind of museum

From the beginning it was clear that this new museum was dramatically different to the existing art museums, such as the Louvre and the musée du Luxembourg. The museum not only displayed objects uncovered during excavations, it also explained these remains by drawing on the fields of botany, zoology, anthropology, epigraphy, numismatics and military science. It also gave access to documentary resources.

On 12 May 1867, as the universal exhibition marked the apogee of the Second Empire, Napoleon III himself inaugurated this museum whose creation he had followed with such interest. Underlining the museum’s value, he donated for its collections a signed copy of his Histoire de Jules César.

• Accueil
  • La Commission de Topographie des Gaules
  • Le musée gallo-romain
  • La création du musée gallo-romain

« Le musée d’antiquités gauloises doit être un établissement scientifique où l’historien et l’archéologue trouveront et pourront apprécier avec facilité les documents les plus précieux, les plus instructifs relatifs à nos ancêtres ; où la nation française pourra en quelque sorte contempler son berceau. »

Adrien de Longpérier, 1863

Enfant chéri de Napoléon III

Créé par décret impérial le 8 mars 1862, « le musée gallo-romain », aujourd’hui musée d’Archéologie nationale, est abrité au château de Saint-Germain-en-Laye, siège du pouvoir royal sous l’Ancien régime. Dès 1862, une lourde restauration du bâtiment est lancée par l’empereur qui vient souvent à l’improviste surveiller l’avancée du chantier. Les travaux sont confiés à Eugène Millet, élève de Viollet-le-Duc.

Une Commission de Topographie des Gaules omniprésente

Une commission consultative pour l’organisation du musée est formée en 1865 pour préciser les axes du projet. Elle est composée de personnalités scientifiques parmi lesquelles la plupart sont membres de la CTG. Nous y retrouvons Félicien de Saulcy, Edouard Lartet, Anatole de Barthélémy, Alfred Maury, Viollet-le-Duc, Casimir Creuly... Alexandre Bertrand, secrétaire de la CTG, est nommé directeur du musée peu avant l’ouverture au public en 1867.

Un musée d’une nouvelle espèce

D’emblée, ce nouveau musée se définit comme bien différent des musées des beaux-arts, tels que le Louvre ou le musée du Luxembourg. Il s’agit non seulement d’y présenter des objets découverts en fouilles, mais également d'expliquer ces vestiges grâce à la botanique, la zoologie, l’anthropologie, l’épigraphie, la numismatique ou les arts militaires, et de donner accès aux ressources documentaires.

Le 12 mai 1867, alors que l’Exposition universelle marque l’apogée du Second Empire, Napoléon III inaugure en personne ce musée dont il a suivi avec vigilance la réalisation. Et pour en souligner la valeur, il offre à la jeune institution un exemplaire de l’Histoire de Jules César dédicacé par ses soins.