Abbé Cochet

Archaeologist and prehistorian Jean Benoît Désiré Cochet joined the Académie de Rouen in 1842 and was appointed inspector of historic monuments in 1849. He became a non-resident member of the CTHS in 1843.

© MAN

Archaeologist and prehistorian Jean Benoît Désiré Cochet joined the Académie de Rouen in 1842 and was appointed inspector of historic monuments in 1849. He became a non-resident member of the CTHS in 1843. In the 1860s, he became a correspondent of the Commission de Topographie des Gaules.

An abbé with a passion for archaeology

Désiré Cochet discovered his passion for archaeology aged 18, when he found the remains of a Roman villa in Etretat. Having reported on his finds, he became a correspondent of the regional commission of antiquities, and was then introduced to Arcisse de Caumont. An ordained priest from 1836, he became known as a field archaeologist with a great attention to detail. Throughout his life he travelled all over Normandy and published more than 150 books, pamphlets and articles.

He was appointed a corresponding member of the Académie des inscriptions et belles-lettres in 1864, and became curator of the musée des antiquités in Rouen in 1867.

Along with Boucher de Perthes, he is considered one of the founding fathers of archaeology as a scientific discipline. Many archaeologists have paid tribute to him in their work, as can be seen in Alfred Caraven’s map.

L'abbé Cochet

Archéologue et préhistorien, Jean Benoît Désiré Cochet est reçu à l'Académie de Rouen en 1842, puis est nommé inspecteur des Monuments historiques en 1849, enfin il devient membre non résidant du CTHS en 1843.

© MAN

Archéologue et préhistoricien, Jean Benoît Désiré Cochet est reçu à l'Académie de Rouen en 1842, puis est nommé inspecteur des Monuments historiques en 1849, enfin il devient membre non résidant du CTHS en 1843. Il rejoint comme correspondant la Commission de Topographie des Gaules, dans les années 1860.

Un abbé passionné d'archéologie

Désiré Cochet se prend de passion pour l'archéologie quand, à 18 ans, il découvre les restes d'une villa romaine à Étretat. À la suite de son rapport sur les fouilles, il est nommé correspondant de la commission départementale des antiquités, puis est présenté à Arcisse de Caumont. Ordonné prêtre en 1836, c'est en archéologue de terrain, soucieux du moindre détail, qu'il se fait remarquer. Il sillonne, sa vie durant, la Normandie et publie plus de 150 volumes, brochures et articles.

Il est élu membre correspondant de l'Académie des inscriptions et belles-lettres en 1864, et devient conservateur du musée des antiquités de Rouen en 1867.

Avec Boucher de Perthes, il est considéré comme l'un des pères fondateurs de l'archéologie en tant que discipline scientifique. Nombreux sont les archéologues qui lui rendent hommage à travers leurs travaux, comme le montre la carte d'Alfred Caraven.