1
Discover the cave

Research

Jean-Michel GENESTE

Archaeologist of the Palaeolithic. Associate member of the CNRS PACEA UMR and EDYTEM. Honorary general curator of heritage. 

As curator and then research manager at Lascaux Cave, he has been studying the archaeology of decorated caves for over two decades. He has been running the multidisciplinary study programme at Chauvet-Pont d’Arc cave since 2002. 

He has coordinated archaeological research programmes in France, Ukraine, South Africa, Papua New Guinea and currently in Terre d’Arnhem. He has edited various books on the Palaeolithic and cave art and has written numerous articles. Furthermore, he is involved in the dissemination of prehistory by audiovisual means and new technologies. 

In Chauvet Cave, Jean-Michel Geneste studies archaeological remains such as stone and bone tools and their layout on the site, coordinating with researchers involved in traceological and lithological analyses in order to determine the supply grounds visited by the groups who inhabited the cave. Ground structures, the entrance and the material constructions of space around the decorated zones also hold a special interest for Jean-Michel. His main concern is the inclusion of chronological data and datings in archaeological reasoning.

Contributions

Skull on the block,Accumulation of blocks,Floor Charcoals,Hearths and heated areas,Traces of material culture,Everyday life,Symbolic expressions,Research Programme,Research in the cave,The Sill,Megaloceros Gallery,Chronology of Occupations,Underground landscape,Node in the underground landscape,Residual hearth,Gravettian presence,Plant residue,The Aurignacians,The Palaeolithic entrance ,The Gravettian presence

1
Découvrir la grotte

La recherche

Jean-Michel GENESTE

Archéologue du Paléolithique. Membre associé aux UMR du CNRS PACEA et EDYTEM. Conservateur général du patrimoine honoraire.

Conservateur puis directeur des recherches de la grotte de Lascaux, il s’est depuis plus de deux décennies attaché à l’étude archéologique des grottes ornées. Il dirige le programme d’étude pluridisciplinaire de la grotte Chauvet-Pont d’Arc depuis 2002.

Il a coordonné des programmes de recherches archéologiques en France, en Ukraine, en Afrique du sud, en Papouasie Nouvelle-Guinée et actuellement en Terre d’Arnhem. Il a dirigé l’édition d’ouvrages sur le Paléolithique et l’art rupestre et publié un grand nombre d'articles. Il s’attache en outre à la médiation de la préhistoire par le biais de l’audiovisuel et des nouvelles technologies.

Jean-Michel Geneste s'est dans la grotte Chauvet penché sur l’étude des vestiges archéologiques tels que les industries lithique et osseuse et leur répartition dans le site dont il a coordonné avec les chercheurs impliqués les analyses tracéologiques et lithologiques aboutissant à la détermination de territoires d'approvisionnement parcourus par les groupes ayant occupé la grotte. Les structures au sol, les foyers et les aménagements matériels de l'espace aux abords des zones ornées ont par ailleurs retenu son intérêt. Le centre de ses préoccupations concerne l'intégration des données chronologiques et des datations dans le raisonnement archéologique.

Contributions

Les Aurignaciens ,La vie au quotidien,Les Gravettiens,Les expressions symboliques,Le progamme de recherche,La recherche dans la grotte,L’entrée paléolithique,Le paysage souterrain,Le Seuil ,Un nœud dans le paysage souterrain,Le foyer résiduel,La présence gravettienne,Résidus végétaux,Le crâne du bloc,Accumulation de blocs,La galerie des Mégacéros,Les charbons au sol,Foyers et zones chauffées