1
Discover the cave

Research

Jean-Jacques DELANNOY

​Geomorphologist, Anthropo-geomorphologist 

With a PhD in geomorphology, he developed the morphogenic study of the caves. This approach, applied to different geodynamic contexts (the Alps, the Baetic Range, South Ardèche) underlined the diversity of underground archives and their relevance to palaeographic and palaeoenvironmental reconstitutions. This work, based on the systemic approach and high-resolution cartographic records, was then applied to the study of decorated and archaeological sites (Chauvet-Pont d’Arc Cave, Terre d’Arnhem, Papua New Guinea). In 2003, he set up the EDYTEM multidisciplinary laboratory (University of Savoie-Mont Blanc, CNRS, Ministry of Culture and Communication). 

As a member of the Chauvet Cave scientific team, he promoted the geomorphological study by distinguishing between the evolution of the cave before, during and after Palaeolithic inhabitation. The cartography of the cave floors, the study of the entrance area and the analysis of the anthropogenic modifiations, carried out in collaboration with the team, are based on the same principle as the morphogenic approach. Taken together with the datings and the 3D data processing, this enabled the group to establish the process and date of the cave's closure (in collaboration with Benjamin Sadier), the restitution of the prehistoric entrance (in collaboration with Benjamin Sadier and Stéphane Jaillet), and the ways in which the anthropogenic layout was built (in collaboration with Élisa Boche, Stéphane Jaillet, Jean-Michel Geneste and Benjamin Sadier). 

As a member of the Chauvet Cave Restitution Space Scientific Committee, he took part in outlining the content of the Pont d’Arc Cave and the Discovery Centre, and followed up on them once established. His involvement was focused on the restitution of underground landscapes, the state of the walls, and the morphologies of the cave. Particular attention was paid to the transfer of this knowledge to sculptors and ceramicists: this led to the creation of a card with the various features to be depicted and a textured 3D model of the cave.

Contributions

The environment,A natural amphitheatre,Red Waterfall,Chamber of the Bear Hollows,Structure of the Cactus,Red Panels Gallery,Candle Gallery,A scientific and artistic restitution,Large collapsed chamber,Basin structures,Structure of the Engraved Horse,The current entrance networks,A scree cone covering the entrance ,The prehistoric porch and its sealing

1
Découvrir la grotte

La recherche

Jean-Jacques DELANNOY

Géomorphologue, anthropo-géomorphologue

Docteur d’État en géomorphologie, il a développé l’étude morphogénique des grottes. Cette approche appliquée à différents contextes géodynamiques (Alpes, Cordillères bétiques, Sud Ardèche…) a permis de relever la diversité des archives souterraines et leur pertinence dans les reconstitutions paléogéographiques et paléoenvironnementales. Cette démarche basée sur l’approche systémique et des relevés cartographiques à haute résolution est depuis appliquée à l’étude des sites ornés et archéologiques (Grotte Chauvet-Pont d’Arc, Terre d’Arnhem, Papouasie Nouvelle Guinée).  Il a créé en 2003 le laboratoire interdisciplinaire EDYTEM (Université Savoie-Mont Blanc, CNRS, Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication).

Membre de l’équipe scientifique de la Grotte Chauvet, il a impulsé l’étude géomorphologique de la grotte en distinguant l’évolution de la grotte avant, pendant et après les fréquentations paléolithiques. La cartographie des sols de la grotte, l’étude de la zone d’entrée et l’analyse des aménagements anthropiques, menées en collaboration avec l’équipe, reposent sur le même principe d’approche morphogénique. Celle-ci croisée aux datations et aux traitements des données 3D a permis de fixer les processus et âge de la fermeture de la grotte (en coll. Benjamin Sadier), la restitution de l’entrée préhistorique (en coll. Benjamin Sadier et Stéphane Jaillet) et les modalités de construction des aménagements anthropiques (en coll.  Élisa Boche, Stéphane Jaillet, Jean-Michel Geneste et Benjamin Sadier).

Membre du Comité Scientifique de l’Espace de Restitution de la Grotte Chauvet, il a participé à la définition des contenus de la Caverne du Pont d’Arc et de du Centre de découverte ainsi qu’ au suivi de leur réalisation. Son implication a été centrée sur la restitution des paysages souterrains, des états de paroi et des morphologies de la grotte.  Une attention particulière a été portée au transfert de ces connaissances en direction des sculpteurs et plasticiens : cela s’est traduit par la réalisation d’un carnet des différents faciès à représenter et d’un modèle 3D texturé de la caverne.

Contributions

L'environnement,Un éboulis en guise d’entrée,Les réseaux d’entrée actuels,Le porche préhistorique et sa fermeture,Salle des Bauges,Une vaste salle d’effondrement,La structure du Cactus,Galerie des Panneaux rouges,La galerie du Cierge ,Les aménagements en bassins,Structure du Cheval gravé,Un amphithéâtre naturel,Une restitution scientifique et artistique,La cascade Rouge