1
Discover the cave

Research

Jean CLOTTES

Prehistorian. Curator General of Heritage (honorary).

Specialist in prehistoric Palaeolithic art, Jean Clottes has led numerous research projects in caves at: Cosquer, Niaux, Enlène and Églises, and Placard. He has worked on sites outside France in various countries, from North America to the Sahara Desert, India and Australia. His extensive bibliography  consisting of top scientific publications and works for the general public  stands witness to his ongoing commitment to spreading knowledge on Prehistory.

On 29 December 1994, just a few days after the discovery of the Chauvet-Pont d'Arc Cave, his expertise was called for. His report outlined the key principles for preservation and research in the cave. In 1998, the Ministry of Culture and Communication accepted the research project he put forward in response to their call for international applications. He managed the scientific team from 1998 to 2002, when Jean-Michel Geneste took over. As an essential member of the scientific team, he continued his work at Chauvet studying, together with Marc Azéma, the right-hand wall in the End Chamber and the rocky pendants around the great collapse in the Hillaire Chamber.

Contributions

Muskox,Horse Alcove,Three small mammoths,Four bison heads in a column,Right-hand wall panel,Signs Panel,Aurignacian cave art,Research Programme,Research in the cave,End Chamber,Large Lion Panel,Engraved Ibex,Black Bear,Pendant Engravings,Distribution of cave art techniques

1
Découvrir la grotte

La recherche

Jean CLOTTES

Préhistorien. Conservateur général du patrimoine (honoraire)

Spécialiste de l'art préhistorique du Paléolithique, Jean Clottes, a dirigé de nombreuses recherches en grotte : à Cosquer, à Niaux, aux grottes d'Enlène et des Églises, à la grotte du Placard. Bien au-delà du territoire national il intervient sur des sites à travers le monde, de l'Amérique du Nord au désert du Sahara, de l'Inde à l'Australie. Sa très riche bibliographie, constituée de publications scientifiques de haut niveau et d'ouvrages grand public, atteste du souci permanent qui l'anime de transmettre et de faire connaître la Préhistoire.

Le 29 décembre 1994, quelques jours après la découverte de la grotte Chauvet-Pont d'Arc, il est chargé de son expertise. Son rapport définit les grands principes de la conservation et de la recherche de la grotte. En 1998, le projet de recherche qu'il propose en réponse à l'appel à candidatures international initié par le ministère de la Culture et de la Communication est accepté. Il dirige l'équipe scientifique de 1998 à 2002, date à laquelle Jean-Michel Geneste lui succède. Membre central de l'équipe scientifique il poursuit ses recherches à Chauvet en s'attachant, avec Marc Azéma, à l'étude de la paroi droite de la salle du Fond et les pendants rocheux autour du grand effondrement de la salle Hillaire. 

Contributions

L’art pariétal aurignacien,Le progamme de recherche,La recherche dans la grotte,Gravure de bouquetin,L’ours noir,Les gravures des Pendants,Répartition des techniques de l’art pariétal,Le Bœuf musqué,La salle du Fond,Alcôve du Cheval,Trois petits mammouths,Quatre têtes de bisons en colonne,Le Grand Panneau des Lions,Le panneau de la paroi droite,Les panneaux des Signes