1
Discover the cave

Research

Gilles TOSELLO

Prehistorian specialising in cave art

Gilles Tosello holds a degree in graphic art and a PhD in Prehistory. Gilles Tosello's research relates to palaeolithic art (his PhD thesis from the University of Paris was published in 2003). He works in the two major decorated caves in the Pyrenees: Le Tuc d’Audoubert and Marsoulas (14 to 15,000 years old). Gilles Tosello is especially interested in the formal and stylistic analysis of Palaeolithic art. By gathering formal data, and establishing the geographical and chronological layout, he defines the human geography of the late European Palaeolithic. In his workshop in Toulouse, as an artist and prehistorian, he is painting the famous horse panel covering 44 m2 with charcoal, consisting of 50 figures, and the large lion fresco (70 m2).

He has been a member of the scientific team since it was set up in 1998, and takes part in the research on cave art. Together with Carole Fritz, he has worked in the Cactus Gallery, the Red Panel Gallery, where they took over from Norbert Aujoulat, and then in the horse sector in the Hillaire Chamber. His current research is oriented around analysing the walls in the Skull Chamber.

Contributions

Mammoth engraved on the vault,Engraved Ibex,Bison on the corner,Spitting Rhinoceros,Horse of the Passage,Three, four or five lions,Panel of the Red Bear,Graphic expression,The floor,Cactus Gallery,Panther Panel,Panel of Positive Hand Prints,Large Red Rhinoceros,Panel of Negative Hand Prints,Reindeer Panel,Alcove of the Lions,Panel of the Horses,Rhinoceros Alcove,Bison of the Pillar,Mammoth Pendant,Bears at height,Brown Painted Mammoth,Black Mammoth and Feline,Panel of the Red Signs,"Butterfly" Sign,Panel of Hand Dots,Red Mammoth,Feline Head,Feline,Positive Hand Prints,Hand Dots,Rhinoceros Frieze,ω-shaped signs,Fine engravings,Niche of the Little Bear,Red paintings,Pendant and Small Cupola,Distribution of cave art techniques,Composed Panels

1
Découvrir la grotte

La recherche

Gilles TOSELLO

Préhistorien spécialiste de l'art pariétal

Diplômé en arts graphiques, et docteur en préhistoire, la recherche de Gilles Tosello porte sur l’art paléolithique (thèse de doctorat de l’Université de Paris I publiée en 2003). Il travaille dans deux grottes ornées majeures des Pyrénées : Le Tuc d’Audoubert et Marsoulas (14 à 15000 ans). Gilles Tosello s’intéresse plus particulièrement à l’analyse formelle et stylistique de l’art paléolithique. En recoupant les données formelles, la répartition géographique et la chronologie, il parvient à définir une géographie humaine du Paléolithique supérieur européen. Dans son atelier à Toulouse, le plasticien et préhistorien réalise la peinture au fusain du célèbre panneau des chevaux de 44 m2 comprenant 50 figures et la grande fresque des lions (70 m2).

Membre de l'équipe scientifique depuis sa création en 1998, elle intervient sur les recherches en art pariétal. Avec Carole Fritz, ils ont travaillé dans la galerie du Cactus, la galerie des Panneaux Rouges, où ils ont pris la suite des travaux de Norbert Aujoulat, puis le secteur des chevaux de la salle Hillaire. Actuellement la recherche s'oriente vers l'analyse des parois de la salle du Crâne.

Contributions

Galerie du Cactus,Pendant au Mammouth,Les ours en hauteur,Le Mammouth peint en brun,Mammouth et félin noirs,Le panneau de la Panthère,Panneau des signes rouges,Signe en « papillon »,Panneau des Points-paumes,Panneau des Mains positives,Le grand Rhinocéros rouge,Mammouth rouge,Tête de Félin,Félin,Mains positives,Points-paumes,Frise des Rhinocéros,Signes en ω,Les gravures fines,Panneau des Mains négatives,Niche au petit Ours,Les peintures rouges,Panneau des Rennes,Alcôve des Lions,Panneau des Chevaux,Alcôve du Rhinocéros,Le Pendant et la Petite coupole,Répartition des techniques de l’art pariétal,Les panneaux composés,Mammouth gravé à la voûte,Bouquetins gravés,Le Bison sur l’angle,Le Rhinocéros crachant,Le Cheval du Passage,Les Bisons du Pilier,Trois, quatre ou cinq lions,Le sol,Panneau de l'Ours rouge