1
Discover the cave

Research

Dominique BAFFIER

Prehistorian and archaeologist specialising in cave art. Curator General of Heritage

Appointed curator of Chauvet Cave in 2000, she set up the preservation office and managed it until 2014. Member of the UMR 7041 ArcScan  CNRS  Nanterre prehistorical ethnology laboratory. 

She studied under André Leroi-Gourhan at the Sorbonne, and joined the CNRS laboratory in 1973, taking part in the excavations at the Magdalenian site in Pincevent. She has managed the research team for the major Arcy-sur-Cure (Yonne) cave since 1994, where the paintings were discovered in 1990. 

She has been a member of the Chauvet Cave scientific team since it was set up in 1998, and works with Valérie Feruglio on the Brunel Chamber and Megaloceros Gallery. They have shown the existence – for the first time in a decorated cave  of several panels produced by the palms of ochred hands placed together, which endows the Aurignacians who lived in the cave with physical reality. At the entrance to the Megaloceros Gallery, they have demonstrated the existence of successive phases in the creation of the panels. The first phase identified consists of black paintings that are older than those currently seen and therefore date to before 36,000 BP.

Contributions

Reindeer Pendant,Mammoth Panel,Vulva Panel,Feline Panel,Bison Panel,Small Rhinoceros Panel,Ibex Panel,Megaloceros Panel,Entrance Panel,Rhinoceros and the Felines,Dancing Reindeer,Rhinoceros Panel,Immediate protection measures,The Layout,A High-security Cave,A Fragile Setting,Archaeology of the Megaloceros Gallery,Graphic expression,Brunel Chamber,Megaloceros of the Entrance,Panel of the Brushed Horse,Three Lions,Mammoth of the Entrance,Points of La Gloriette,Entrance Panel,Bears of the recess,Ibex of the recess,Red Cervid,Engraved Stoup,Black Feline,Dominoes,Panel of Yellow Horses,Large Panel of Hand Dots,Panel of Positive Hand Prints,Small Rhinoceroses

1
Découvrir la grotte

La recherche

Dominique BAFFIER

Préhistorienne archéologue, spécialiste de l'art pariétal. Conservateur général du Patrimoine

Nommée conservatrice de la grotte Chauvet en 2000, elle a créé le service de la Conservation et a assuré son fonctionnement jusqu'en 2014. Membre du laboratoire d'ethnologie préhistorique UMR 7041 ArcScan - CNRS - Nanterre. 

Élève d'André Leroi-Gourhan à la Sorbonne, elle entre en 1973 au CNRS dans son laboratoire et participe aux fouilles du site magdalénien de Pincevent. Depuis 1994, elle dirige l'équipe de recherche de la Grande Grotte d'Arcy-sur-Cure (Yonne) dont les peintures ont été découvertes en 1990. 

Membre de l'équipe scientifique de la grotte Chauvet depuis sa création en 1998, elle travaille avec Valérie Feruglio sur la salle Brunel et la galerie des Mégacéros. Elles ont mis en évidence pour la première fois dans une grotte ornée l'existence de plusieurs panneaux constituées par des paumes de mains ocrées juxtaposées qui donnent une réalité physique aux Aurignaciens qui ont fréquentés la grotte. À l'entrée de la galerie des Mégacéros, elles ont démontré l'existence de phases successives dans la réalisation des panneaux. La première phase identifiée est constituée de peintures noires plus anciennes que celles que l'on observe actuellement et donc antérieures à 36 000 BP.

Contributions

Les mesures immédiates de protection,Les aménagements,Une grotte sous haute surveillance,Un milieu fragile,La salle Brunel,Le Mammouth de l’entrée,Les Points de la Gloriette,Le panneau de l'Entrée,Les ours du diverticule,Les bouquetins du diverticule,Le Cervidé rouge,Les gravures du Bénitier,Le Félin noir,Les dominos,Panneau de la Main positive,Panneau des Chevaux jaunes,Grand panneau de Points-Paumes,Pendant aux Rennes,Le Mégacéros de l’entrée,Panneau des Mammouths,Panneau des Vulves,Panneau du Félin,Panneau du Bison,Panneau du Cheval brossé,Panneau du petit Rhinocéros,Panneau du Bouquetin,Panneau des Mégacéros,Petits Rhinocéros,L’archéologie de la galerie des Mégacéros,Le panneau de l’entrée,Les trois Lions,Le Rhinocéros et les félins,Le Renne dansant,Panneau des Rhinocéros,L’expression graphique