1
Discover the cave

Research

Bertrand KERVAZO

Geologist specialising in the stratigraphic and sedimentological study of French prehistoric sites 

Research engineer at the National Prehistory Centre of Perigueux - Dordogne - (Ministry of Culture and Communication) from 1978 to 2012. Head of the sedimentology department. Part of the UMR 5199 PACEA "From prehistory to the Present, Culture, Environment, Anthropology" in Bordeaux until 2012.

He was involved in various different research projects and studied over 60 deposits, among which were key archaeology sites such as La Quina, Solutré, Le Placard, Villerest, Le Martinet ... and the caves of Rouffignac and Cussac. His work aimed at recreating the evolution of human environment landscapes, climates at guiding archaeological interpretation by evaluating the condition of remains (alteration, mixing) and helping in preservation, especially in decorated caves.

He formed part of the Chauvet Cave scientific team right from the beginning, initially involved in the reconstruction of the site's geological history. Then, together with Évelyne Debard and Catherine Ferrier, he studied the taphonomy of the floors and walls in order to better understand the reasons behind the layout of the remains, in particular the wall paintings (constraints of the medium, the choice of people, alteration after painting). This study also showed the impact of large fires, at least the part attributable to the Aurignacians, the purpose of which remains unknown for now.

Contributions

Underground landscape,Preservation,Underground landscape,Collapse,Evolution of the cave

1
Découvrir la grotte

La recherche

Bertrand KERVAZO

Géologue - spécialité : étude stratigraphique et sédimentologique des sites préhistoriques français

Ingénieur de Recherche au Centre National de Préhistoire de Périgueux - Dordogne - (Ministère de la Culture et de la Communication) de 1978 à 2012. Responsable du département de sédimentologie. Rattaché jusqu'en 2012 à l'UMR 5199 PACEA : « De la Préhistoire à l’Actuel, Culture, Environnement, Anthropologie » de Bordeaux.

Il a participé à différents projets de recherche et a étudié plus de 60 gisements parmi lesquels des sites clefs de l'archéologie, tels La Quina, Solutré, le Placard, Villerest, Le Martinet... ou encore les grottes de Rouffignac et de Cussac. Ses travaux sont destinés à reconstituer l'évolution de l'environnement des hommes - paysages, climats -, à guider l'interprétation archéologique en évaluant l'état des vestiges (altération, mélanges) et à aider à la conservation, notamment des grottes ornées.

Intégré dès l'origine à l'équipe scientifique de la grotte Chauvet, il a d'abord participé à la reconstitution de l'histoire géologique du site. Puis, avec Évelyne Debard et Catherine Ferrier, il s'est consacré à la taphonomie des sols et des parois pour mieux comprendre les raisons de la répartition des vestiges, en particulier des œuvres pariétales (contraintes du support, choix des hommes, altération après le dessin). Cette étude a aussi mis en évidence l'impact de puissants feux, au moins en partie rapportables aux Aurignaciens, dont la fonction reste, pour le moment, inconnue.

Contributions

Le paysage souterrain,La conservation,Le paysage souterrain,Effondrement,L’évolution de la grotte