1
Discover the cave

Research

Bernard GÉLY

Archaeologist, prehistorian, specialising in Palaeolithic decorated caves in Ardèche

An engineer for the DRAC Rhônes-Alpes regional archaeology service, he has been working since 1980 on the Prehistory of Ardèche in the caves of Ebbou, Deux-Ouvertures and Colombier, as well as Baume-Latrone in the Gardon valley. His work relates to scientific study (sounding, sampling), assessing discoveries (the Gulf of Émilie), and following up on cave protection systems in the region.

On 29 December 1994, he took part in the assessment of the Chauvet-Pont d'Arc Cave, and from then was in charge of the preservation of the cave until the preservation service was set up in 2000. He has been a member of the scientific team since 1998 (as a manager). In this role, he took part in the general inventory of the drawings and traces of human activity in the cave. He also carried out micro-sounding in the cave, a task linked to the placing of walkways, and in the neighbouring caves used as technical bases. In 2005, together with Marc Azéma, he published a book on the depictions of mammoths in Chauvet Cave. Since then, together with Frédéric Maksud, he has been working on stratigraphic control soundings at different points in the cave (the Hillaire Chamber, the Megaloceros Gallery, the Brunel Chamber and the entrance area).

Contributions

The climate and flora,Mammoths on the left wall,Scraped Mammoths,Archaeological sites,Panel of the Large Engraved Horse,Large Engraved Horse,Red dots,Mammoth,Two interlocking mammoths,Rhinoceros Panel

1
Découvrir la grotte

La recherche

Bernard GÉLY

Archéologue, préhistorien, spécialiste des grottes ornées paléolithiques de l'Ardèche

Ingénieur au service régional de l'archéologie de la DRAC Rhônes-Alpes, il travaille depuis 1980 sur la Préhistoire de l'Ardèche dans la grotte d'Ebbou, des Deux-Ouvertures, ou du Colombier, ainsi qu'à Baume-Latrone dans la vallée du Gardon. Ses missions concernent l'étude scientifique (sondages, relevés...) ainsi que l'expertise des découvertes (gouffre d'Émilie) et le suivi des systèmes de protection des cavités de la région.

Le 29 décembre 1994, il participe à l'expertise de la grotte Chauvet-Pont d'Arc, et assure ensuite les missions de conservation de la grotte jusqu'à la création du service de la Conservation en 2000. Depuis 1998, il est membre de l'équipe scientifique (premier cercle). À ce titre, il participe à l'inventaire général des dessins et des traces d'activités humaines dans la cavité. Il réalise également des micro-sondages dans la grotte, en lien avec l'avancement des passerelles, ainsi que dans les grottes avoisinantes utilisées comme locaux techniques. En 2005, il publie, avec Marc Azéma, un ouvrage sur les représentations de Mammouths dans la grotte Chauvet. Depuis, avec Frédéric Maksud, il se consacre à l'ouverture de sondages de contrôle stratigraphique en différents points de la cavité (salle Hillaire, galerie des Mégacéros, salle Brunel, zone d'entrée...).

Contributions

Les sites archéologiques,Le climat et la flore,Points rouges,Mammouth,Panneau du Grand Cheval gravé,Le Grand Cheval gravé,Deux mammouths emboîtés,Panneau des Rhinocéros,Les Mammouths de la paroi gauche,Les Mammouths raclés